War of the Roses and More

Let’s explore the power of words. Did a writer delight you, make you think, or impact you in some other way? Write a review, or share a favorite line from something you’ve read.

I can’t really say one writer has delighted me but several have.  I love the Plantagenet and Tudor eras.  Any book I can get my hands on about these eras I do.  I love how these writers create fiction out of history.  The English court back in those days was one full of intrigue and suspense.  Families positioning themselves with whomever of the royal family at that time sat on the throne.

One of my favorite Plantagenet era writers is Anne Easter Smith. The first book I read of hers was about Margaret, sister to Edward IV and Richard III, who became the Duchess of Burgundy.  From there I went in search of the rest of the books in the series.  A couple were already written and available for reading.  The last two I had to wait for them to become available.  There are five books in all.  Four about the family and one about a mistress.  I keep on the lookout for possibly a new one in the series but alas nothing yet has surfaced.

For the Tudor era, there are many authors with which to choose from, Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Diane Haeger, etc.  I have read books by all three and I would have to say it is a tie between Alison Weir and Diane Haeger.  These ladies write the fiction novels about the Tudors.  I have also read the non-fiction books as well though not as interesting as the fiction.  However, they help to lay the foundation for all the possibilities of what could have occurred during this time period in the world of fiction.

These books take me to a time period which has always fascinated.  Though I would not want to live in this era, I am provided the opportunity to imagine how it must have been.

This post is part of Think Kit by SmallBox
Today’s prompt: “Read Up.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

