Through the Eyes of a Child

You know the story about all work and no play… How did you play with others this year? Let your hair down and share how you escaped for an hour, a day, or more.

I have one favorite place in all the world to go and play, Disney World.  I have been there many times whether by myself, with my husband or with family.  If I could go there every year I would but there are years where other priorities present themselves.  So a trip to the Magic Kingdom is postponed until another year.

Of all the venues at Disney World, Epcot is my favorite.  It is magical to visit at different times of the year to see how Disney dresses it up for the occasion.  The first year I went with my husband was very special.  We had just gotten engaged and were spending the week at my timeshare.  We were walking the World Showcase area near Canada when the magic hit us both.  It was a very special time, and we remember it every time we are there.

One of our planned trips this year had to be cancelled due to an illness.  We had been looking forward to this trip but it was just not meant to be.  I needed to get away from work to relax so we decided to head to Orlando for the timeshare week.  The airline tickets were already purchased.  It was just a matter of changing the reservation.  So the week at the timeshare was confirmed, the car rental reservation made and when the week arrived off we went.

I can’t say this was one of the better trips to Orlando but I did get some much needed rest.  We got to go play at Epcot and the Magic Kingdom, and enjoyed every minute.  We also went to what was Downtown Disney.  It is in the process of experiencing a makeover, name and all.  Its name has been changed to Disney Springs.  There is construction everywhere but knowing Disney it will be spectacular when it is finished.

One year once again I hope to see the magic of Disney through the eyes of my husband’s granddaughters.  I got to see it about 20 years ago through the years of a very special 12 year old.  It was wonderful to see then.

Disney is always magical to see through the eyes of a child.

This post is part of Think Kit by SmallBox
Today’s prompt: “Play Date.”

Leave a Reply

